Skip to content

Fruit on the Vine

June 8, 2009

Well…on the trees. The trees which are still in pots because we haven’t had time to get them into the ground yet. Fortunately, even the tree that has (had?) woolly aphids on it is producing. Actually – that tree is almost over-productive as all the apples are weighing pulling the top down. We should prune it or pull some apples off I think but I can’t make myself do it…I WANT these apples. Of course, I don’t want them to break the tree either. Josh knows a fair amount about pruning so I will point this out to him and make sure the tree is OK as is…it looks lovely:

apples2The peapearr tree is healthy but so far has only produced one stunted purple pear. It is like a hard tumor more than a fruit but the tree is only a couple years old so it is a good first try!

There are also raspberries on the raspberry vines…I have to keep pulling mint and tansy out of the raspberry patch so that the berry plants can really get established and take over on the side yard.

We also have 3 blueberry plants in pots that are going to go  on on the hillside…again, we just haven’t had time! Clearing the hill is a tough job…we spent a couple days on it last weekend so that we could put up the posts for an electric fence…so we are getting there. Once we have the space cleared (and the massive brush pile chipped up and moved) I can create a bed for the blueberries. I’m going to use pine mulch and needles as well as some organic product to acidify the soil. Blueberries are tricky – they don’t grow here naturally, tend to do better in pots when they are grown here, but I’ll give it my best. Nothing better than blueberry pancakes, just saying.

Future Home of Fruit Trees...Current Home of Giant Brushpile & Snakes

Future Home of Fruit Trees...Current Home of Giant Brushpile & Snakes

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 12:00 pm

    I keep hoping for a snake to show itself to me…with some warning, though, since I might react to being startled…

Leave a comment