Skip to content

New Garden Beds

June 8, 2009

new beds

Thanks to my hardworking husband and very generous sister-in-law we have two more garden beds…the one nearer the house is nightshades and the bed on the edge of hill is for squash. We bought cedar posts several months ago to build a fence with, decided to use mostly metal poles for said fence, and so are using some of the logs to line our garden beds. It is so much work to till beds (double-digging with a shovel)…Josh borrowed a rototiller for part of one of these…we have good topsoil but heavy clay under that so the digging can be rough. In any case, the first year of our little “homesteading” project will be the busiest, I’m sure.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. quickgardens permalink
    June 8, 2009 7:59 pm

    How nice to have so much room to grow things.

  2. June 9, 2009 11:50 am

    Yes, this year will be the busiest, unless you decide to take on additional projects every year! The new beds look very good, and the veggies will certainly make all the work worthwhile. Hope Kristin gets her share!

  3. hippygirl permalink
    June 10, 2009 4:09 pm

    I agree that this first year will be busiest. This is my first year with a garden and definitely busy. I could be doing more, too, but I’ve been lazy and unenergetic. But I do look forward to next year when I won’t have to set everything up. My raised beds will be there and will only require some compost to get them going again.

    The tilled area is another story and I’m not sure I want to do it again, really. I’ll have to think about it. It’s a big area, which is nice but it’s a pain in the butt. I just posted about it today.

  4. Suzanne permalink
    June 12, 2009 12:39 pm

    Awesome work Erin. I’ve been at mine for 12 years and every year is work, just a different kind. My poor husband!

    suzanne

  5. Natalie permalink
    June 26, 2009 1:34 pm

    this is all very impressive congratulations on all your hard work paying off!

Leave a comment